Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers FAQ (2022)

FAQ Sections

General Questions

Continuing Education

Apprentice Questions

Endorsement (Reciprocity) Requirements

License Renewal Information

Salon and Barber Shop Questions

General Questions

A license can be obtained through an apprenticeship or by examination. If you are currently licensed in another state or United States territory, you may apply by endorsement.

The first page of each application has a complete checklist of all items needed to obtain licensure in Georgia. If you need further assistance, check out the How To Guides and helpful videos.

Download the Health and Safety Curriculum (PDF) contains the health and safety curriculum for cosmetology and barbers' classes:

Cosmetic Laser Services are regulated by the Georgia Composite Medical Board (GCMB).

You may review rules, Frequently Asked Questions, and application information for pulse light, laser, and other services at the GCMB website:
http://medicalboard.georgia.gov/cosmetic-laser-practitioners-applications

Originally enacted in 2007 as House Bill 528, the Cosmetic Laser Services Act O.C.G.A. § 4334244 became effective February 26, 2014 when Governor Nathan Deal signed the House Bill 743, the General Appropriations Act, which authorized the Board to begin licensing cosmetic laser practitioners. There are two levels of licensure for this profession: assistant laser practitioner and senior laser practitioner. The Cosmetic Laser Services Act specifies the qualifications for each of these levels. The "grandfather period" for Assistant Laser Practitioner applications has ended.

If you graduated from a cosmetology or barber school or if you completed an apprenticeship program in Georgia, you will need to contact PSI using one of the following methods:

  • Via the Internet 24 hours a day atwww.psiexams.com.
  • Using a touch-tone phone, call PSI 24 hours a day at (855) 744-0314.
  • With a PSI registrar at (855) 744-0314, available Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am and 8:00 pm and Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.
  • Contact PSI about the examinations, fees, dates, locations, exam content and grade notifications. You can download the NIC Candidate Information Bulletins for Georgia from PSI here:

Master Cosmetologist

Hair Designer

Esthetician

Nail Technician

Master Barber

Barber II

Master Cosmetology Instructor

Hair Design Instructor

Esthetician Instructor

Nail Technician Instructor

Barber Instructor (All)

  • After you have taken and passed both sections of the examination, you may apply with the Board for a cosmetology or barber license. You may apply online on thewebsite.
  • If you cannot apply online, download a paper application for licensure. Submit the application along with the non-refundable application fee.
  • Passing the written and practical examination does not guarantee licensure. All criminal convictions and board sanctions will be reviewed by the Board while considering licensure for applicants…

A fee schedule may be foundhere. All application fees are non-refundable.

What happens if I fail one or both parts of the examination?

You may retake only the portion failed. Contact PSI for re-examination information using one of the following methods:

  • Via the Internet 24 hours a day atwww.psiexams.com.
  • Using a touch-tone phone, call PSI 24 hours a day at (855) 744-0314.
  • PSI registrars are available Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am and 8:00 pm, and Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.

Any applicant applying for a certificate of registration must pass both a board approved written and practical examination in English. If the candidate completed their required hours on or after July 1, 2018, they have 48-months to take and pass their state board exams. If not, they will be required to repeat the required credit hours before they will be allowed to take or retake the exams.There is no limit on the number of times the exam may be taken for initial licensure applicants.

No. You may sit for examination. However, the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers will have to review this matter before you can be licensed.

Contact PSI for information about reevaluating exam results using one of the following methods:

  • Via the Internet 24 hours a day atwww.psiexams.com.
  • Using a touch-tone phone, call PSI 24 hours a day at (800) 744-0314.
  • PSI registrars are available Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am and 8:00 pm, and Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.

Continuing Education

Current continuing education providers expire on December 31, 2021. Any courses taken after that date must be from a provider with a current 2022-2023 registration.

INSTRUCTOR CE REQUIREMENTS: All instructors seeking renewal of licenses must complete fifteen (15) hours of Board approved continuing education, with at least half of the 15 hours in teaching techniques, lesson planning, or other advanced teacher training. There are no CE exemptions for instructors.

How many continuing education hours are required for licensees?
To renew a license, each licensee must provide to the Board proof of completion a total of 5 continuing education (CE) hours in a form acceptable to the Board as follows: 3 hours of the total 5 hours must be satisfied by a course in health and safety developed or approved by the Board. A health and safety course or program that meets or exceeds the 3 hours that has been developed and offered through a college, university department, or division of continuing education of the Department of Education, the Technical College System of Georgia, the Board of Regents, or The American Red Cross may be accepted by the Board without prior approval; and 2 hours of the total 5 hours must be in a course previously registered with the Board in any of the following areas:

  1. industry or trade show.
  2. health and safety.
  3. industry trends.
  4. computer skills.
  5. business management.
  6. the area of practice for the type of license held by the licensee.

If audited, the licensee shall submit written proof from the CE provider of attendance and/or completion of each CE course submitted for credit.

The first time you renew your license you are not required to meet the CE requirements (Rule 240-3-.01 (2)(a)(1)). Every renewal after that, you must complete 5 hours of continuing education every 2 years to renew your license for Master Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Nail Technician, Hair Designer, Master Barber, or Barber II.

3 hours of the required 5 hours must be obtained in health and safety courses developed by the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG). The remaining 2 hours may be completed by attending a trade/product show or by completing other courses in health and safety, industry trends, computer skills, business management or related areas of practice. Any shows that you use for your continuing education must be registered with the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers for you to receive continuing education credit.

The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology does not offer continuing education classes, only a list of approved continuing education providers.

Download the Approved Continuing Education Providerslist for a list of places you can take CE courses.

The first time you renew your license you are not required to meet the CE requirements. Every renewal after that, you must complete 5 hours of continuing education every 2 years to renew your license for master cosmetologist, esthetician, nail technician, hair designer. Master Barber, Barber II, and Barber Instructor licenses are 'exempt' from CE requirements until the 2018 renewal year and will be required every two years thereafter.

A licensee who has held a license for 25 years or longer is eligible for a waiver of the continuing education requirement; or A licensee who can prove to the Board that he or she has a hardship may request a waiver.

Reinstatement applications are not eligible for a waiver of continuing education; Georgia law O.C.G.A. 43-10-10 requires documentationmust be submittedfor all required continuing education hours since the date the license lapsed. Additional information may be found on the reinstatement application. The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers cannot waivethis statutory requirement.

Download the Waiver Request Form >>

See theHow-to Guide: Continuing Education Providerspage for the registration information and requirements for all course providers.

Continuing education courses taken via the Internet, by home study or some other electronic method are acceptable for completing continuing education requirements, if the courses are registered with the Georgia Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. These courses will also have to follow the 3-hour curriculum developed by the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG).

Apprentice Questions

Yes. There are six types of apprentice licenses:

  • Cosmetology apprentice
  • Esthetician apprentice
  • Nail Technician apprentice
  • Hair Design apprentice
  • Master Barber apprentice
  • Barber II apprentice

Due to a change in Cosmetology and Barbering statute O.C.G.A. § 43-10-13(c), beginning July 1, 2019, any apprentice who was licensed after July 1, 2019, is required to take the theory portion of the state Board examination within the first 12 months of being licensed. The theory portion of your transcripts must be completed, signed by the apprentice and Master (or supervising licensee in front of a Notary Public) before being submitted to the Board for review. Once approved by the Board, the apprentice will be mailed a Letter of Eligibility to be submitted to PSI with your testing application. This law applies to ALL apprentice license types. There are NO exceptions. Apprentices who were issued a license before July 1, 2019 are exempt from this requirement.

O.C.G.A. § 43-10-13(c) states:

A barber apprentice and any other individual serving as an apprentice in a beauty shop, beautysalon, or barber shop shall take the theory portion of the examination provided for in Code Section43-10-9 within the first 12 months of his or her apprenticeship.

To apply for an apprentice license, download theApprentice Application. Choose the appropriate apprentice license on the application, complete the application, and submit it along with the application fee.

Please note: Incomplete applications will delay processing. Please be sure to review the required checklist of items.

How long must I apprentice before I can take the exam?

  • Cosmetology Apprentice – minimum of 18 months and 3000 hours.
  • Esthetician Apprentice – minimum of 18 months and 2000 hours.
  • Nail Technician Apprentice – minimum of 8 months and 1050 hours.
  • Hair Design Apprentice – minimum of 14 months and 2650 hours.
  • Master Barber Apprentice - minimum of 18 months and 3000 hours.
  • Barber II Apprentice - minimum of 14 months and 2280 hours.

Download the appropriate training form, record your hours daily, and maintain the record at the salon/shop where you are working for inspectors to view upon request. Be sure to keep a copy of your training record for your own records.

When you have completed your apprenticeship, mail the completed training form to:

Georgia State Board of Cosmetology
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, Georgia 31217

Download a new apprentice application and complete and follow the instructions for change of master or salon. Submit the completed application along with the application fee. Any time you change Master or salon/shop or complete your program, submit your hours to the Board office.

Please note: Incomplete applications will delay processing. Please be sure to review the required checklist of items.

Apprentice licenses issued prior to July 1, 2015 are allowed 1 renewal.Apprentice licenses issued after July 1, 2015 are issued for 4 years with no renewals allowed.

Send all original transcripts of hours to the Board office along with a letter requesting a “Letter of Eligibility” to sit for the exams. There is no charge for first request for the Letter of Eligibility. However, if you must request a second time, there is a $25.00 fee.

Once you receive your Letter of Eligibility, you must contact PSI to obtain an exam application. You may contact PSI:

  • Via the Internet 24 hours a day atwww.psiexams.com.
  • Using a touch-tone phone, call PSI 24 hours a day at (855) 744-0314.
  • PSI registrars are available Monday through Friday, between 7:30 am and 8:00 pm, and Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.

After you pass both parts of the examination, you may apply online. If you cannot apply online, download a paper application for licensure. Submit the application along with the application fee.

Please note: Incomplete applications will delay processing. Please be sure to review the required checklist of items.

Master Cosmetologist, Hair Designer, Esthetician, and Nail Technicians must hold a license for at least 36 months before you can apprentice someone else.Master Barbers or Barber II must hold a license for at least 18 months before accepting an apprentice.

You may have one apprentice for each master or supervising licensee in the salon/shop.

No. A master may apprentice only one person at a time.

  • Master Cosmetologist/Cosmetology Instructor
  • Hair Designer/Hair Designer Instructor
  • Esthetician/Esthetician Instructor
  • Nail Technician/Nail Instructor
  • Master Barber/Barber Instructor
  • Barber II
  • Please refer to O.C.G.A. § 43-10-1 for definitions.

No. Fees submitted with applications are processing fees and are non-refundable.

A list of all licensed schools may be found on our website by clicking(HERE)

Endorsement (Reciprocity) Requirements

The state of Georgia does not reciprocate with any other state. However, if you are actively licensed and in good standing in another state or a United States territory, you may apply for licensure by Endorsement. Please be aware that the Board can only accept Endorsement applications on paper. Mail the completed application, fee, and any supporting documents to the address on the application.

If you are actively licensed in another state, you may still apply for Endorsement without needing to acquire additional hours.

If you have been licensed in multiple states, the Board will need a verification of licensure from every state in which you have been licensed.

If you meet the eligibility requirements, the Board will issue you an exam approval letter. You will provide that letter and a completed exam application to the Board's approved testing provider. Applicants who are made exam eligible under this section will not be allowed to take the exam more than three times without passing.

You may order a verification or certification of licensureonline.

For more information, please refer to Board Rule Chapter 240-11.

License Renewal Information

Yes. You will receive approximately 6 courtesy email reminders during the renewal period. However, it is your responsibility to renew your license every 2 years on or before the expiration date. To avoid delays in processing your renewal, please be sure to keep your mailing address and email address current with the Board.

  • Master Cosmetologists – March 31 of even numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, April 1st through April 30th.
  • Cosmetology Salons/Shops – June 30 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, July 1st through July 31st.
  • Cosmetology Instructors – June 30 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, July 1st through July 31st.
  • Cosmetology Schools – June 30 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, July 1st through July 31st.
  • Estheticians – August 31 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, Sept. 1st through Sept. 30th.
  • Esthetician Instructors – June 30 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, July 1st through July 31st.
  • Esthetician Schools – June 30 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, July 1st through July 31st.
  • Nail Technicians – August 31 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, Sept. 1st through Sept. 30th.
  • Nail Technician Instructors – June 30 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, July 1st through July 31st.
  • Nail Care Schools – June 30 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, July 1st through July 31st.
  • Hair Designers – September 30 of even numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, Oct. 1st through Oct. 31st.
  • Hair Design Instructors – September 30 of odd numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, Oct. 1st through Oct. 31st.
  • Hair Design Schools – September 30 of even numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, Oct. 1st through Oct. 31st.
  • Master Barber – December 31 of even numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, Jan 1st through Jan. 31st.
  • Barber II - December 31 of even numbered years.
    • Late-Renewal Period, Jan 1st through Jan. 31st.
  • Barber Instructor - June 30 of odd numbered year.
    • Late-Renewal Period, July 1st through July 31st.
  • Barber Schools - June 30 of odd numbered year.
    • Late-Renewal Period, July 1st through July 31st.

Paper renewals are not automatically mailed to licensees. A paper renewal form may be requested by the licensee either by calling the Board office at (404) 424-9966 or requesting a form in writing from the Board office.

  • Once the renewal period has been opened by the Professional Licensing Boards Division, you may renew your license via our website with a credit card. Click on the License Renewal icon and follow the instructions. You will be asked a series of questions including whether or not you have received a conviction or board sanction since the last renewal, whether or not you have completed your continuing education requirements, and whether or not you are a U.S. citizen. Read the questions carefully so that you do not answer a question incorrectly by mistake. Renewing your license via the website is the fastest way to renew your license.
  • If you answer “yes” to the conviction or board sanction question, your license will not be renewed until you have submitted the required paperwork and it has been reviewed by the Board. For convictions you must submit to the Board the following: a) a copy of conviction/sentencing documents from the Court before which you were convicted and sentenced, signed by the presiding judge, and showing said conviction and sentence; and, if applicable, b) a statement (on official letterhead) from your probation / parole officer regarding your status/completion of any probation / parole. For board sanctions you must request that the licensing board or agency send a certified copy of the action taken against your license with relevant supporting documents to the Board’s office.

No. Your license must be current before you can work in Georgia.

If a license is not renewed, the license is placed in lapsed-late renewal status for thirty (30) days. An individual who continues to practice with an expired license is in violation of the law and may be subject to a fine, a public disciplinary action, and/or criminal prosecution. A license that is not renewed within the Thirty (30) days will become lapsed and will require an application for reinstatement

Salon and Barber Shop Questions

No.

Submit an application for a salon or shop licensealong with the application fee. Please note: Incomplete applications will delay processing. Please be sure to review the required checklist of items.

No. You must be issued a license before you can begin work or open a salon/shop.Anyone performing services must have an active license. Verification of a license may be foundhere.It is the responsibility of the salon/shop owner to ensure that each person performing services has a license to provide those services.Salon/shop licenses and individual licenses must be posted in the salon/shop.

No.

Yes. You may open a salon/shop in your home. However, you must meet the requirements of all state laws and board rules, includingBoard Rule 240-4-.01.

No. You must obtain a business license in the county or city in which you are opening your establishment.Changes in name, location, address, or ownership of a salon/shop requires a new application for licensure.

Yes. However, all barber shops are required to meet all the requirements of a barber shop which are listed in the state law and Board rules. These requirements include all physical and sanitation and disinfection requirements.

The salon or shop owner is responsible for ensuring that all state laws and board rules are followed. The state laws and board rules may be found on the board’s websitehere. All shops and salons are subject to random inspections. Citations will be issued to shops found to be in violation of the laws and rules. The fine schedule for violations may be found inBoard Rule 240-2-.02.

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Domingo Moore

Last Updated: 12/08/2022

Views: 6232

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (53 voted)

Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Domingo Moore

Birthday: 1997-05-20

Address: 6485 Kohler Route, Antonioton, VT 77375-0299

Phone: +3213869077934

Job: Sales Analyst

Hobby: Kayaking, Roller skating, Cabaret, Rugby, Homebrewing, Creative writing, amateur radio

Introduction: My name is Domingo Moore, I am a attractive, gorgeous, funny, jolly, spotless, nice, fantastic person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.